FedEx ruins my iPhone 4 day :(

So I was lucky enough to get in (after a lot of trying mind you!) and order my iPhone 4 via Apple’s website before the Jun 24th delivery date got pushed back. Hurray!

 

Everything was looking fine, and yesterday it even looked great, because FedEx tracking had my status as “Delivery on Jun 23rd by 4:00pm“, with this tracking info:

Jun 23, 2010 7:08 AM At local FedEx facility GARLAND, TX

Jun 23, 2010 5:28 AM At dest sort facility DALLAS, TX

Jun 23, 2010 4:46 AM Departed FedEx location INDIANAPOLIS, IN

Jun 23, 2010 1:15 AM Arrived at FedEx location INDIANAPOLIS, IN

Seeing as I live in Garland it looked like I would be one of the lucky few thousand to get their iPhone 4 a day early. So I eagerly waited for the FedEx truck, and sure enough about 9:30am a doorbell singled it had arrived! Strangely, the driver was already heading back to his truck by the time I got to the door. Confused, I looked down to see a box… and I though “Shouldn’t I have had to sign for that?“.

 

Alas, the reason I didn’t have to sign for the package was because it wasn’t from Apple, but OWC (a nice Raid case, but no iPhone 4). So I kept waiting, thinking maybe it would arrive on another truck later in the day.

 

But no… because FedEx hates me! Today I went to check the delivery status on the FedEx site only to discover that there is now no delivery status … no date, no destination, nothing, nada, zilch!

 

So what happened? Maybe the updating tracking information holds a clue:

Jun 24, 2010 9:59 AM Arrived at FedEx location MEMPHIS, TN

Jun 24, 2010 9:17 AM Departed FedEx location NEWARK, NJ

Yep… FedEx decided that someone in friggin’ New Jersey deserves my iPhone 4 more than me. Rotten Bastards! (FedEx, not any of you NJ mob guys! You guys rock!)

 

-lane, stuck with his iPhone 3G for a while longer 😦

 

OK, so how f’n technology spoiled am I to consider having a iPhone 3G being stuck? I mean, in the not too distant past I was giddy about having a Nokia N95 … a phone that had a ton of applications (even an office suite, with WP, SS, etc). Of course the only good part of the phone was the camera (which was better than my actual digital camera!), and the iPhone blows it away on every front, including every aspect of development (common Nokia, if Apple can get a profiler working on device you should be able to as well, you’ve only got a decade’s lead time!).

About Lane Roathe

I make my living designing, producing, and programming computer software. I have done work on numerous platforms, including MacOS, Win95/NT, Apple //, Super Nintendo, Sega, and others; writing mainly games but also operating systems, applications, utilities, etc. I have started and run several companies, currently operating Ideas From the Deep.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

